GIRO 02 – July 2009

A long trip I made in the summer of 2009. I started from Rome and went all the way to Austria with this small 106, which at the end did 2500km in 10 days.

The Beast is back again! – Somewhere in the middle of the alps – 24 July 2009
In 2009 also, I did the slave for a living. The job wasn’t that bad, but it was consuming me slowly each year. I worked on a computer all day, executing orders all the time, and I didn’t like that. So for me that was slavery. But I was lucky. So lucky. I had priviledges. I could leave the job for 4 weeks each year and do whatever I wanted. But I couldn’t take these 4 weeks all at the same time. No no no, that’s too much. My owner unchained me for 2 weeks in summer, and 2 weeks in winter. So the plan was to use my summer temporary 2 week freedom days to do what I most like to do: Travel. Visit places I’ve never been before! “So I said goodbye to all my friends and packed my hopes inside a matchbox ’cause I know it’s time to fly”

DAY 01 distance: 217 km total so far: 217 km
Manziana – Vejano – Tuscania – Onano – Acquapendente – Torrenieri
At the end of the first day I was already in Tuscany. I found this quiet agritourism in the middle of the hills near Siena.
The farm holiday where I passed the first night – Torrenieri (SI) – 20 July 2009
Agriturismo Collesassi. The owners were nice people and everything went fine. I took some pictures of the place.

The view outside the window – Torrenieri (SI) – 20 July 2009
Harvested fields – Torrenieri (SI) – 20 July 2009
The entrance – Torrenieri (SI) – 20 July 2009
Garage door – Torrenieri (SI) – 20 July 2009
Sunset. End of day one – Torrenieri (SI) – 20 July 2009

DAY 02 distance: 322 km total so far: 539 km
Buonconvento – Asciano – Ambra – Rufina – Stia – Galeata – San Godenzo – Scarperia – Firenzuola
House on top of the hill – Tuscany – 21 July 2009
Olive grove – Tuscany – 21 July 2009
Forest – Tuscany – 21 July 2009
Caterpillar – Tuscany – 21 July 2009
My horse – Tuscany – 21 July 2009

DAY 03 distance: 369 km total so far: 908 km
Pianoro – Pegola – Bosaro – Monselice – Loreggia – Roncade – Madriso – Fagagna
No photographs this day. I went through the Po Valley (Pianura Padana) which isn’t that picturesque. Just endless cultivated fields. It is impressive how flat it is though. You can’t see any mountains on the horizon for miles and miles.

DAY 04 distance: 204 km total so far: 1112 km
Fagagna – Caporiacco – Osoppo – Portis – Arta Terme – Soppada – Comelico Superiore – Dobbiaco
The Beast ready for climbing – Somewhere in the eastern alps – 23 July 2009
Hotel room – Dobbiaco – 23 July 2009
When the hotel room had a good view, I usually moved the table near the window and ate watching outside, instead of watching tv. This time the view wasn’t bad at all: an alpine lake. I also wash by hand my shirt and hang it on the window like that.
The view – Dobbiaco – 23 July 2009

DAY 05 distance: 75 km total so far: 1187 km
Dobbiaco – Brunico – Lappago – Cesa – Campo Tures
Lago di Neves – Cesa – 24 July 2009
In this picture I may look relaxed, but this was a hard shot. I was alone and didn’t have the tripod, so the only way to position the camera, was a rock that was a bit distant from me and the self-timer was only 10sec.
Self – Cesa – 24 July 2009
The bench – Cesa – 24 July 2009
The view from the bench – Cesa – 24 July 2009

DAY 06 distance: 169 km total so far: 1356 km
Campo Tures – Valle Aurina – Brunico – Anterselva – Lienz
View from the roof of the hotel – Campo Tures – 25 July 2009
Campo Tures is 870m high so sometimes you can touch the clouds – 25 July 2009
Waiting at the Austrian border – Anterselva – 25 July 2009
Somewhere not far from Lienz – Austria – 25 July 2009

DAY 07 distance: 280 km total so far: 1636 km
Lienz – Tweng – Radstadt – Mittersill – Wald im Pinzgau
The view from Hotel Haidenhof (altitude: 820m) – Lienz – 26 July 2009
This year the prize for best hotel goes to Hotel Novahof in Wald im Pinzgau (it would be funny to hear how they pronounce this) 1200m high. The panorama outside the balcony was amazing and it was cheap too.
View from the hotel – Austria – 26 July 2009
Self, enjoying the panorama – Austria – 26 July 2009
Train station, Wald im Pinzgau – Austria – 26 July 2009
Alpine house, Wald im Pinzgau – Austria – 26 July 2009
Lots of space, Wald im Pinzgau – Austria – 26 July 2009
Goodnight, Wald im Pinzgau – Austria – 26 July 2009

DAY 08 distance: 184 km total so far: 1820 km
Wald im Pinzgau – Gerlos – Fugen – Zirl – Oetz – Imst


The last two days were a nightmare. Just riding non-stop for almost 700km. I had to get back to my regular slave life. The 2 weeks of freedom were over.
DAY 09+10 distance: 687 km total: 2507 km
Imst – Starkenbach – Fliess – Nauders – Merano – Trento – Lago di Garda – Roma
Overall, I liked this trip, it was an attempt to escape from reality for a while. I postponed the problem by destracting myself for ten days. It didn’t work.

The End

Leave a Reply

